Andy Taylor Announcer Logo Qatar Total Open 2018

Petra Kvitova earns her 22nd career title, defeating four top-10 players to win the Qatar Total Open


Make it 13 consecutive victories for Qatar Total Open 2018 Champion Petra Kvitova. For the third time this week, she came back from a set down to defeat Garbine Muguruza and claim Doha’s Falcon.

Since falling to Andrea Petkovic in the opening round of the Australian Open, the inspiring Czech has been unbeatable. Two weeks ago, she captured her 21st career title in St. Petersburg. Last weekend in Prague, she won both of her Fed Cup rubbers over Switzerland’s Victorija Golubic and Belinda Bencic, lifting the Czech Republic into the World Group Semifinals for the 10th consecutive year. This week, Petra won six additional matches, eliminating four top-10 players and Agnieska Radwanska to win her first Doha title.


Tomorrow morning, for the first time since Wimbledon nearly 2-years-ago, Kvitova will return to the WTA’s top-10.

It is baffling to think that just 14 months ago, Petra suffered tendon and nerve damage to all five fingers on her racquet hand, while fending off a home-intruder armed with a knife. Amazingly, five months after surgery, she returned to the tour at Roland Garros; and two weeks later in Birmingham, won her 20th career title in just the second event of her comeback.

With victories in St. Petersburg and Doha, she now owns 22 WTA Singles Titles and is enjoying the longest win-streak of her career.


Recaps of the 32 matches played on Center Court

Day-7. Champions of the Qatar Total Open 2018

Day-6. Semifinals. Petra Kvitova’s 5th career win over a World #1

Day-5. Quarterfinals. Simona Halep wins, withdraws from the tournament

Day-4. Round of 16. Cici Bellis can’t stop winning

Day-3. Round 2. Another huge Romanian victory. Mihaela Buzarnescu

Day-2. Rounds 1 and 2 matches on center court

Day-1. Round-1. Qualifiers go 4-for-4. Niculescu upsets Sharapova

Qualifying Rounds and Draw Ceremony

Past Champions. Qatar Total Open

Singles Champions

2017 Karolina Pliskova

2016 Carla Suarez Navarro

2015 Lucie Safarova

2014 Simona Halep

2013 Victoria Azarenka

2012 Victoria Azarenka

2011 Vera Zvonareva

2008 Maria Sharapova

2007 Justine Henin

2006 Nadia Petrova

2005 Maria Sharapova

2004 Anastasia Myskina

2003 Anastasia Myskina

2002 Monica Seles

2001 Martina Hingis

Doubles Champions

2017 Katarina Srebotnik / Abigail Spears

2016 Yung-Jan Chan / Hao-Ching Chan

2015 Raquel Atawo / Abigail Spears

2014 Shuai Peng / Su-Wei Hsieh

2013 Roberta Vinci / Sara Errani

2012 Liezel Huber / Lisa Raymond

2011 Kveta Peschke / Katarina Srebotnik

2008 Kveta Peschke / Rennae Stubbs

2007 Martina Hingis / Maria Kirilenko

2006 Daniela Hantuchova / Ai Sugiyama

2005 Alicia Molik / Francesca Schiavone

2004 Svetlana Kuznetsova / Elena Likhovtseva

2003 Janet Lee / Wynne Prakusya

2002 Janette Husarova / Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario

2001 Sandrine Testud / Roberta Vinci