2014 US Open Tennis Championships


After 46 years of coverage, the 2014 US Open was CBS’s last season covering the sport’s final Grand Slam. Starting in 2015, ESPN will be the sole US television distributor for the tournament. Serena Williams made history, earning her 6th US Open Championship and 18th Grand Slam Singles Title – tying Chris Evert and Martina Navratilova for the most Grand Slam Singles titles in the Open Era. Marin Cilic won the Men’s Singles draw – his first career Grand Slam title – becoming the first Croatian to ever win a Slam. His opponent in the Final, Kei Nishikori, became the first player from Asia ever to reach the Final of a Grand Slam. (This was also the first time since 2005 that a member of the ATP World Tour’s “Big Four” did not play in a Slam Final). Bob and Mike Bryan made history, becoming the most successful doubles team in the Open Era by earning their 5th US Open title, 16th career Grand Slam Doubles title and 100th career title together. Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina won their second Grand Slam Doubles title together; they’d won the French Open in 2013. Bruno Soares and Sania Mirza won the Mixed Doubles title. It was Sania’s third Grand Slam Mixed Doubles title and Bruno’s second (2012 US Open). Their opponents in the Final, Abigail Spears and Santiago Gonzalez, had also played in the Final last year.

Women’s Singles Champion
Serena Williams (USA) def. Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
6-3, 6-3

Men’s Singles Champion
Marin Cilic (CRO) def. Kei Nishikori (JPN)
6-3, 6-3, 6-3

Women’s Doubles Champions
Ekaterina Makarova (RUS) and Elena Vesnina (RUS) def. Martina Hingis (SUI) and Flavia Pennetta (ITA)
2-6, 6-3, 6-2

Men’s Doubles Champions
Bob Bryan (USA) and Mike Bryan (USA) def. Marcel Granollers (ESP) and Marc Lopez (ESP)
6-4, 6-3

Mixed Doubles Champions
Sania Mirza (IND) and Bruno Soares (BRA) def. Abigail Spears (USA) and Santiago Gonzalez (MEX)
6-1, 2-6, [11-9]