100th Australian Open starts…on Monday!


2011 champions:

  • Men’s singles: Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
  • Men’s doubles: Bob Bryan (U.S.) and Mike Bryan (U.S.)
  • Women’s singles: Kim Clijsters (Belgium)
  • Women’s doubles: Gisela Dulko (Argentina) and Flavia Pennetta (Italy)
  • Mixed doubles: Daniel Nestor (Canada) and Katarina Srebotnik (Slovenia)

Most titles:

  • Men all competitions: Adrian Quist (Australia) (3 singles, 10 doubles)
  • Men’s singles: Roy Emerson (Australia) 6
  • Women all competitions: Margaret Court (11 singles, 8 doubles, 2 mixed doubles)
  • Women’s singles: Margaret Court (Australia) 11
  • Youngest men’s winner: Ken Rosewall (Australia) in 1953, aged 18 years and 2 months
  • Oldest men’s winner: Ken Rosewall (Australia) in 1972, aged 37 years and 2 months
  • Longest timed men’s singles match: 5 hours 14 minutes, Rafael Nadal beat Fernando Verdasco 6-7 6-4 7-6 6-7 6-4, semi-finals 2009
  • Youngest women’s winner: Martina Hingis (Switzerland) in 1997, aged 16 years and 3 months
  • Oldest women’s winner: Thelma Long (Australia) in 1954, aged 35 years and 8 months
  • Longest timed women’s singles match: 4 hours 19 minutes, Barbora Zahlavova-Strycova beat Regina Kulikova 7-6 6-7 6-3, first round 2010

2012 Prize money:

  • Men’s and women’s singles: AUD$2,300,000
  • Doubles: AUD$454,500 (per pair)
  • Mixed doubles: AUD$135,500 (per pair)

By the way, Rafa and Federer are on the same half of the draw…meaning if they play, it won’t be in the Final; not to mention, Kim Clijsters could have to face Li Na early on!

There’s still tennis to played this weekend, before the first ball-toss in Melbourne…and apparently a lot of rainbow flags to descend on the city thanks to Margaret Court offering up an opinion on gay marriage. Whoops!

Victoria Azarenka beat Li Na in Sydney (Li’s not happy with the loud fans – she’s glad everyone wants to ‘coach’ her to come-back during a match, but says she’s a professional, knows what she’s doing, and doesn’t need the help). Cute.

With the guys, it’ll be Jarko Nieminen vs. Julien Benneteau in the Final

In Hobart – Wickmayer and Barthel are in the Final.

David Ferrer and Olivier Rochus are in the Aukland Final.

And Mardy Fish made the Kooyong Exihition Final, where he’ll play Bernard Tomic.

Enjoy the weekend…Like you, I’m looking forward to the year’s first Grand Slam!