2014 BNP Paribas Open. Indian Wells

The 2014 BNP Paribas Open

The 2014 BNP Paribas Open saw Novak Djokovic win his 3rd Indian Wells title; his 17th career Masters-1000 win. His championship match with Roger Federer was one for the ages, ending in a deciding set tie-break. On the ladies side, Flavia Pennetta became the eldest Indian Wells winner since Steffi Graf in 1996. The 32-year-old easily dispatched a hobbled Agnieszka Radwanska, who injured her knee the day prior in her semifinal win over Simona Halep. The victory was Flavia’s 10th career singles title in 23 finals appearances. Reigning Wimbledon Champions Hseih Su-wei and Peng Shuai won their second title of the year, defeating Cara Black and Sania Mirza in the final, their 11th title together. After winning Doha back in January, Peng became the first player from China, male of female, to earn the World #1 ranking. And after a 15-year drought, Bob and Mike Bryan backed up last year’s doubles victory with a repeat win over the decorated tandem of Alexander Peya and Bruno Soares; Bob and Mike’s 95 career title together.

Women’s Singles Champion
Flavia Pennetta (ITA) def. Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)
6-2, 6-1

Men’s Singles Champion
Novak Djokovic (SRB) def. Roger Federer (SUI)
3-6, 6-3, 7-6(3)

Women’s Doubles Champions
Hsieh Su-wei (TPE) and Peng Shuai (CHN) def. Cara Black (ZWE) and Sania Mirza (IND)
7-6(5), 6-2

Men’s Doubles Champions
Bob and Mike Bryan (USA) def. Alexander Peya (AUT) and Bruno Soares (BRA)
6-4, 6-3