2017 Qatar Total Open

The 2017 Qatar Total Open Champion

From ball-up, the Qatar Total Open 2017 quickly became the most challenging event of the WTA’s young season. Nearly half the field, including the eventual champion, played Fed Cup prior to the tournament’s launch on Monday; forcing players to scramble for flights late Sunday and early Monday just to get to Doha.

Then, when they arrived, the rain was relentless.

Because of the scheduling challenges, Monday’s first two matches on Center Court were final round qualifying matches. Thanks to the rain…by the end of the day, only one main-draw 1st-Round match was completed.

Qatar Total Open 2017. An insane rain-soaked schedule

The Schedule. Here's how we pulled it off

After another rainy slog on Tuesday, we eventually completed our second main-draw 1st-Round match. With all of the cancellations and play suspensions, most of the field would be forced to endure at least one day where they had to play two matches, just to complete the tournament on time.

Karolina Pliskova eventually earned her 8th career title. The #2-seed enjoyed a 1st-Round bye, defeated Caroline Garcia on Thursday, Shuai Zhang and Dominica Cibulkova on Friday, and 2011 Finalist Caroline Wozniacki on Saturday. Essentially it was a 3-day, 4-match tournament for the World #3, where she earned her first career-wins over both Cibulkova and Wozniacki.

In doubles, champions Katarina Srebotnik and Abigail Spears managed to glide through the draw without having to pull double duty. They overcame Yaroslava Shvedova and Olga Savchuk – who remarkably managed to reach her 3rd Final of the year on Saturday. To reach the Championship clash, Yaroslava and Olga won both their Quarterfinal and Semifinal matches on Friday, winning both in “match tie-breaks.” With a walk-over in the first round, thanks to the rain, they essentially played the entire tournament in just over 24-hours.

Qatar Total Open 2017 Singles Champion
[2] Karolina Pliskova (CZE) def. Caroline Wozniacki (DEN)
6-3, 6-4

Qatar Total Open 2017 Doubles Champions
[4] Katarina Srebotnik (SLO) / Abigail Spears (USA) def. Yaroslava Shvedova (KAZ) / Olga Savchuk (UKR)
6-3, 7-6(7)


2017 Karolina Pliskova

2016 Carla Suarez Navarro

2015 Lucie Safarova

2014 Simona Halep

2013 Victoria Azarenka

2012 Victoria Azarenka

2011 Vera Zvonareva

2008 Maria Sharapova

2007 Justine Henin

2006 Nadia Petrova

2005 Maria Sharapova

2004 Anastasia Myskina

2003 Anastasia Myskina

2002 Monica Seles

2001 Martina Hingis

2017 Katarina Srebotnik / Abigail Spears

2016 Yung-Jan Chan / Hao-Ching Chan

2015 Raquel Atawo / Abigail Spears

2014 Shuai Peng / Su-Wei Hsieh

2013 Roberta Vinci / Sara Errani

2012 Liezel Huber / Lisa Raymond

2011 Kveta Peschke / Katarina Srebotnik

2008 Kveta Peschke / Rennae Stubbs

2007 Martina Hingis / Maria Kirilenko

2006 Daniela Hantuchova / Ai Sugiyama

2005 Alicia Molik / Francesca Schiavone

2004 Svetlana Kuznetsova / Elena Likhovtseva

2003 Janet Lee / Wynne Prakusya

2002 Janette Husarova / Arantxa Sanchez-Vicario

2001 Sandrine Testud / Roberta Vinci